Knight denies Dean was warned before ‘Mankad’

0 0
Read Time:1 Minute, 25 Second

England captain Heather Knight has denied India’s claim that Charlie Dean was warned before his ‘Mankad’ knock in their one-day match on Saturday.

On Monday, India bowler Deepti Sharma said Dean was “repeatedly” warned to leave his crease early in his innings, before completion.

However, Knight said that while the incident, which sealed a tense win for India, was “legitimate”, they “shouldn’t feel the need to justify it by lying”.

He added: “No warning was given.”

Knight missed the game through injury but was at Lord’s for the match, which India won by 16 runs to claim a 3-0 series win.

“The game is over, Charlie was rightfully dismissed. India were deserved winners of the match and the series. But no warning was given,” he said.

“They don’t have to give them, so it hasn’t made the dismissal any less legitimate, but if they feel comfortable with the decision to hit the attrition, India shouldn’t feel the need to justify it by lying. warnings”.

The dismissal debate has overshadowed India’s triumph at Lord’s.

The ‘Mankad’ came when Deepti stopped in her delivery stride and ran out to Dean, who had left his ground at the non-striker’s end.

It is allowed in the laws of cricket, but some argue that it goes against the spirit of the game.

If a non-striking batsman leaves his crease early, he could gain advantage when he runs to the striker’s end to complete a run.

“It was a plan, because we had warned him repeatedly,” Deepti he told reportersexternal link.

“We did things according to the rules and guidelines. We also told the referees, but she was there [outside the crease]. We couldn’t do much.”

Around the BBC iPlayer bannerAround the BBC iPlayer footer

Happy
Happy
0 %
Sad
Sad
0 %
Excited
Excited
0 %
Sleepy
Sleepy
0 %
Angry
Angry
0 %
Surprise
Surprise
0 %

Average Rating

5 Star
0%
4 Star
0%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *